Crossing the Border

As of 1 July 2013, The Republic of Croatia has become a member of the EU, but the border police will continue to carry out border control on all borders, including those of the EU member states, until the RC's accession to the Schengen area, though customs duties will not be carried out on the borders with the EU member states.

Citizens of EU member states, or the European Economic Area, including citizens of Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and the Swiss Confederation, Andorra, San Marino and the Holy See, can enter Croatia with a national identity card or other document that provides proof of identity and citizenship.

Special checkpoints are being introduced at border crossings wherever possible.